Cute Song    CutePersons.com Coming Soon
Topics: all |general|cuteembroidery|voting-request|tips|designs|software|freebies|community-suggestion
  by letvia 30 May 2009
+44

Please be careful; I just reported and closed a post because the link was from a Mohammed's site. If any of you downloaded any design from this site (EmbroiderySamples) just delete them...

letvia42275 
  
    sort by:   |   |  
    by letvia 30 May 2009
    +6

    Don't open any of this designs and if you did, scan your computer with your antivirus software

    2 Comments
    cindy12 by cindy12 30 May 2009     

    Wow! I downloaded some of Mohammed's designs from his site about a year or two ago, but never opened them cause his designs are too big for my little 4X4 limited embroidery machine! Thanks for the warning! Cindy P.S. They are not on my P.C. anymore, but on a memory stick.. so I am thinking my P/C is still safe.

    letvia by letvia 31 May 2009     

    Good for you. XoXo

      
    letvia42275 
    by jdhbraz 30 May 2009
    +4

    I have seen the phrase "Mohammed Site" in previous posts as well- what does it mean?

    2 Comments
    gerryb by gerryb 30 May 2009     

    For some unknown reason this person sends virus' from his site. DO avoid them. There is a list here on cute telling you what they are.

    letvia by letvia 31 May 2009     

    Gerry answered you perfect. Flower and XoXo

      
    jdhbraz242 
    by gerryb 30 May 2009
    +3

    Is that one of his new sites? I keep my page of sites at the computer, and did not have EmbroidrySamples on the list! Do we need an updated list???? I have written it in as well as have written in FreeEmbroideryWorld.com at some time! Tks for being so alert for us all!!!

    1 Comments
    letvia by letvia 31 May 2009     

    I posted an updated list a while ago, but to be honest, I'm not sure if this is a new site or even is it is in the list, but I can tell you for the designs that this is one of the many mohammed's sites.
    It's my pleasure to help others. Flower and XoXo

      
    gerryb6641 
    by lbrow 30 May 2009
    +4

    Thanks for the update letvia *

    1 Comments
    letvia by letvia 31 May 2009     

    You're welcome dear Lilian. Flower and XoXo

      
    lbrow53765 
    by kathyjt 30 May 2009
    +3

    thanks for the warning. *4u

    1 Comments
    letvia by letvia 31 May 2009     

    You're welcome. Flower and XoXo

      
    kathyjt13508 
    by asterixsew 30 May 2009
    +5

    Thanks for this info

    1 Comments
    letvia by letvia 31 May 2009     

    You're welcome. Flower and XoXo

      
    asterixsew7507 
    by embroiderysick 31 May 2009
    +1

    Thank you for the warning. I don't like to see how the community is full with site with free designs. I think that is the reason for the Bookmarks link. Maybe I'm wrong. Sorry if somebody offenses with my comment but it's how I feel. Peace everybody!

      
    embroiderysick71 
    by clawton 31 May 2009
    +2

    Thanks for the warning. I am much more care now and I use to be. There are so many ways that the viruses can be attached to what we download. I had to do a scan about a month ago because my system warned about a trogen virus (don't think that spelled correctly???) I believe it came from a site that I had visited many times before.

      
    clawton31665 
    by vixentlc 31 May 2009
    0

    Thank you Letvia, I did follow your instructions by scanning my PC and yes I did find a Trojan horse on it, lucky for me my security system was able to quarantine it. I spend the whole afternoon online with removal tools to make my PC safe again. If this horse came from that posting I cannot say for sure but thank you for inspiring me to do my weekly scan.

      
    vixentlc8451 
    by quiltgrama 31 May 2009
    +1

    thanks will watch for it.

      
    quiltgrama7577 
    by iris2006 31 May 2009
    +1

    Thanks Letvia for the update.

      
    iris200633238 
    by jacquipaul 31 May 2009
    +1

    Merci; *4u! Know I've seen those designs, so will do a scan.
    Are the designs checked before they are bookmarked? If so, the idea to add only to the bookmark file, is excellent.
    Jacqueline

    1 Comments
    marjialexa by marjialexa 31 May 2009     

    I don't know if people check before they bookmark, Jacqui, but it's SO much easier to find problems like this in the bookmark section than in Community, where things get to page 5 pretty fast & maybe we won't spot it. Thanks for asking. Hugs, M

      
    jacquipaul11234 
    by gg2009 31 May 2009
    +2

    Thanks for posting this. Question, (1) How can you tell a Mohammed site? Is it simply that when you d/l a design and open it, there are viruses? Is that what makes it a Mohammed site, or is this an actual (vicious) person? (2) Can you LOOK at the site without any problem? (3) Who did you report it to?
    I googled EmbroiderySamples and my McAfee said that .com site had no significant problems .. but D/Ls weren't tested. Did you email McAfee that there was a problem? THESE ARE JUST QUESTIONS FROM A CURIOUS PERSON. THANKS FOR BEING SO PRO-ACTIVE. GG

      
    gg20094299 
    by marjialexa 30 May 2009
    +4

    Thank you, Letvia! To beat a dead horse, that's one of the reasons I don't think there should be so many individual freebie postings, they should all go in bookmarks. Too many people are new and just don't know what they're doing yet, and how many bad sites there can be out there. Amazes me how many don't run anti-virus software, and direct others to sites like these thinking they're safe. Thanks for the warning, Letvia. Hugs, Marji

    2 Comments
    pennifold by pennifold 31 May 2009     

    Great comment - I hope a lot of people read this.

    Love and blessings Chris

    jrob by jrob 31 May 2009     

    as do I!

      
    marjialexa22364 
    by jrob 31 May 2009
    +2

    ttt

      
    jrob54365 
    by sissibrode 31 May 2009
    +5

    Thanks Letvia. I don't remember if I dl designs from this site...so i will scan all my files :o)*

      
    sissibrode58378 
    by stork 30 May 2009
    +2

    Thanks for the info...I don't remember downloading anything from that site...it's just crazy that people get their kicks out of this kind of stuff...I wish I had free time to put to better use then Mohammed does...

      
    stork2378 
    by dkjack 30 May 2009
    +4

    Thanks letvia, we do need to be careful.

    1 Comments
    letvia by letvia 30 May 2009     

    Yes we do. Flower and XoXo

      
    dkjack38558 


    Home | Back to CuteEmbroidery | Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy | Info | Contact us

    Copyright © 2008 CuteEmbroidery.com, All rights reserved.